Note: from September 2021 this Presidency has been renamed the Pentecostal and Charismatic Presidency, reflecting the fact that the President is appointed by members of CTE’s Pentecostal and Charismatic Forum. Its former name, as reflected in the original Memorandum below, was the Pentecostal Presidency.

  1. President shall be elected/chosen by the Pentecostal members of CTE.
  2. The executive staff responsible for Pentecostal and Multicultural Relations (PMR) will oversee the process. All nominations will need the agreement of the nominee.
  3. A voting form will then be circulated with nominations including a short biography of each.
  4. Voting forms will be returned to the executive staff of PMR.
  5. The executive staff of PMR will approach the successful candidate and having ascertained their acceptance will then inform the Pentecostal members of the decision. Should there be a tie, a second vote will be held to discern between the tied candidates.
  6. The Pentecostal President will serve for four years, commencing 1 October.


We, the churches within the Pentecostal ‘family’ within CTE, recognise the need for balance within the Pentecostal Presidency of CTE. We are mindful that our constituency represents both the older white majority Pentecostal/Charismatic denominations and the newer Black Majority Pentecostal denominations.  As the Presidency develops we will seek to ensure that a balance is maintained between those two constituencies.


The first Pentecostal President, Eric Brown, was elected in 2013 for two years. He was re-elected for a further two years in 2015. Subsequently the term of office was changed to four years, as above.

Bishop Eric Brown, former CTE Pentecostal President

CTE’s second Pentecostal President was Pastor Agu Irukwu, whose term ran from 2017-2021.

Bishop Tedroy Powell was appointed as CTE’s Pentecostal President, commencing the role in autumn 2021.

Bishop Tedroy Powell