Membership of the Enabling Group

crowdThe Enabling Group consists of representatives from each Member Church, from Intermediate Bodies and from Bodies in Association. They gather in a twenty-four hour overnight meeting twice a year.
From CTE's Rules

  • "Enabling Group" means the Members of the Charity meeting together in General Meeting (1.5)
  • Each member has one vote except the Church of England and the Roman Catholic Church each of which shall be entitled to three votes. The Methodist Church shall be entitled to two votes. (2.1.1)

Representatives of Member Churches

Member Churches pay the expenses of their representatives.
If a representative is unable to attend a particular meeting s/he is welcome to send a substitute. Some Churches appoint alternatives who also receive papers and circulars. Normally only one person from each Church attends the meetings.

  • Antiochian Orthodox Christian Archdiocese of the British Isles & Ireland - David Hoskin

  • Apostolic Pastoral Congress - Moses Owusu-Sekyere

  • Armenian Orthodox Church - Hovakim Manukyan or Shnork Baghdassarian

  • Assemblies of God - Stephen Page

  • Baptist Union of Great Britain - Stephen Keyworth or Hilary Treavis

  • Catholic Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales (3) - Paul Hendricks, John O'Toole

  • Church of England (3) - Linda Ali, Jeremy Worthen

  • Church of God of Prophecy - Delroy Hall or Tedroy Powell

  • Church of Scotland (Presbytery of England) - Mike Binks

  • Churches in Communities International - Trevor Howard

  • Congregational Federation - Yvonne Campbell

  • Coptic Orthodox Church - Bishop Angaelos (CTE President)

  • Council of African and Caribbean Churches UK - Fidelia Onyuku-Opukiri

  • Council of Lutheran Churches - James Laing

  • Council of Oriental Orthodox Christian Churches - Bishop Angaelos (CTE President) The Coptic Orthodox Church is a member of the Council

  • Elim Pentecostal Church  - Simon Foster

  • Evangelical Lutheran Church of England - Jon Ehlers

  • Evangelische Synode Deutscher Sprache in Großbritannien - Oliver Fischer

  • Exarchate of Orthodox Parishes of the Russian Tradition (Ecumenical Patriarchate) - Patrick Hodson

  • Free Church of England - John Fenwick

  • Ground Level - Richard Bradbury

  • Ichthus Christian Fellowship - Phil Tate

  • Independent Methodist Churches - Bill Hampson

  • Indian Orthodox Church - Mathews Mar Thimothios or Elizabeth Joy

  • International Ministerial Council of Great Britain - Sheila Douglas

  • Ixthus Church Council - Costakis Evangelou

  • Joint Council of Churches for All Nations - Dorritt Akinbobola or Esme Beswick

  • Mar Thoma Church in Europe - Noble Mathew or Stanley Thomas

  • Methodist Church (2) - Neil Stubbens, Jonathan Pye

  • Moravian Church - Philip Cooper

  • New Testament Assembly - Beverley Russell-Burke or Delroy Powell

  • New Testament Church of God - Brian Robinson

  • Oecumenical Patriarchate - Archbishop Gregorios

  • Pioneer - Billy Kennedy  (CTE President)

  • Redeemed Christian Church of God - Marcus Chilaka or Adeyinka Oduwole

  • Religious Society of Friends - Eoin Stephenson

  • Ruach Network of Churches - Penny Francis or John Francis

  • Russian Orthodox Church (Moscow Patriarchate) - Stephen Platt

  • Salvation Army - Jonathan Roberts or Samuel Edgar

  • Seventh-day Adventist Church (observer) - Emmanuel Osei

  • Transatlantic Pacific Alliance of Churches - Paul Hackman or John Owusu-Ansah

  • Unification Council of Cherubim & Seraphim Churches (Europe Chapter) - John Adegoke

  • United Kingdom World Evangelism Trust - Simon Iheanacho or Elizabeth Iheanacho

  • United Reformed Church - David Tatem

  • Wesleyan Holiness Church - Clement Bartlett

Ten members elected by the Intermediate Ecumenical Bodies in regional groupings
The date in brackets indicates when the term of office began/was renewed.

  • East Midlands: Phillip Hutchinson (October 2015) 

  • Eastern Region: Priscilla Barlow or Callan Slipper (September 2014)

  • London: vacant

  • North East: Joanne Thorns (September 2014)

  • North West: Anton Muller (March 2015) or Helen Boothroyd (April 2016)

  • South East (North): John Robertson (September 2016)

  • South East (South): Sue Loveday (September 2013)

  • South West: Alison Evans (April 2014)

  • West Midlands: Colin Marsh (September 2013)

  • Yorkshire: Erica Dunmow (April 2017)

Two members elected by the Bodies in Association

  • Lucy Docherty (September 2014)

  • Hilary Topp (January 2016)

The Moderator and Deputy Moderator of the 2018 Forum

  • Forum Moderator: Ruth Gee

  • Deputy Forum Moderator: Hilary Topp

The Convenor and Deputy Convenor of the Enabling Group

  • Convenor: Robert Byrne (director)

  • Deputy Convenor: Ruth Bottoms (director)

The Honorary Treasurer of the Charity
Peter Hammond (director)
The General Secretary of Churches Together in Britain and Ireland
Bob Fyffe or Peter Colwell
The Trustees of the Charity please click for the list
Other post holders not listed above (§5 of the rules)
The General Secretary: David Cornick
Other Executive staff please click for the list
The Chaplain of the Forum
there is no chaplain for the 2015 Forum
Papers are sent for information to the  Hon Solicitor (David S Walton) and to CTE's Presidents.

Churches Together in England is an Incorporated Charitable Company Limited by Guarantee
(Company Registered No. 5354231, Charity Registered No. 1110782)

a ChurchInsight siteLow GraphicsCopyrightT&CsPrivacyHelpRegistered Charity 1110782, Comp Reg No 5354231